

Falkirk win at Euroquiz final: Comely Park team crowned Euroquiz Champions 2017

16/05/17

Congratulations to the P6 team from Comely Park Primary School, who won the Scottish European Educational Trust's National Euroquiz Final 2017, which took place in the Debating Chamber of the Scottish Parliament on 15th May 2017.



Team members Tamsin Gold, Edwin Walker, Robyn Dewar-Young and Jaymie Jones were crowned SEET's Euroquiz Champions 2017 at the national final. The winners were closely followed by St Leonard's Primary School team from South Lanarkshire, in a nail-biting final round. Sciennes Primary School from Edinburgh also did incredibly well, winning the prize for third place.

Euroquiz is run by the Scottish European Educational Trust, a non-political charity, which promotes education about language learning, Europe and the wider world amongst Scotland's young people. Over 470 schools from across Scotland took part in Euroquiz Heats from January to March, involving over 2,000 pupils in the first stage of the project. The winning teams from each of the 31 participating Local Authority areas attended the national final at the Scottish Parliament, all hoping to raise the trophy as winners. Each team demonstrated an impressive level of knowledge about European countries, history, culture, and current affairs.

All participants were a credit to their schools and worked extremely well together in their teams. The finalists were put through their paces by quizmaster Deputy Presiding Officer Christine Grahame MSP and Head of the Office of the European Commission in Scotland, Graham Blythe, who read out the answers. Euroquiz is a unique experience and an excellent

opportunity for the development of team building, confidence building and language skills. The knowledge and understanding of Europe and the wider world shown by all participating pupils yesterday was incredibly impressive, and was matched only by their sense of fair play and mutual respect. Well done to everyone who took part in Euroquiz 2017!

John Swinney MSP, and Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills, said:

"Scotland believes in internationalism and we want Scotland to be as well connected as possible to the rest of Europe and the world so we can work well with other nations and contribute to the success of our global community.

The Euroquiz is a fantastic opportunity for you to learn more about, and celebrate, the wonderfully rich and diverse cultures, history, geography, current affairs and languages of our fellow Europeans. Language learning is exciting and can support learning about others and the development of active global citizens. That is why we are so committed to ensuring that language learning throughout school is normal for all our young people.

Congratulations to everyone who has participated in this year's Euroquiz and in particular to those of you who have reached the National Final here at the Scottish Parliament."

Notes for editor:

Full list of participating schools

Albyn School, Aberdeen City Alloway Primary School, South Ayrshire Bonnyrigg Primary School, Midlothian Cairneyhill Primary School, Fife Comely Park Primary School, Falkirk Crown Primary School, Highland Forthill Primary School, Dundee Hermitage Primary School, Argyll & Bute Lenzie Meadow Primary, East Dunbartonshire Loretto Junior School, East Lothian Low Port Primary School, West Lothian Melrose Primary School, Scottish Borders Mill O' Forest primary school, Aberdeenshire Nether Robertland primary School, East Ayrshire Newington Primary School, Dumfries & Galloway Our Lady & St. Francis Primary School, North Lanarkshire Sciennes Primary School, City of Edinburgh Sgoil an Rubha, Western Isles Springhill and Auchenback Primary, East Renfrewshire St Catherine's Primary School, Renfrewshire St Denis' Primary, Glasgow St Dominic's R.C.P.S., Perth & Kinross St Leonard's Primary, South Lanarkshire St Mary's (Duntocher), West Dunbartonshire St Sylvester's Primary, Moray Strathblane Primary, Stirling Strathdevon Primary School, Clackmannanshire Tingwall Primary, Shetland West Kilbride Primary School, North Ayrshire Whinhill Primary School, Inverclyde Whitehills Primary School, Angus